Catalog cover

PlayStation Plus August Extra games catalog adds Yakuza and Bugsnax

The PlayStation Blog has revealed the free games those with a PlayStation Plus Extra or Premium membership can get for the month of August. These games will appear on August 16, 2022 for players of the appropriate level. There will be a total of eleven games that will be available, with three Yakuza games as the main highlights.

PlayStation Plus games for August are:

  • Yakuza 0
  • Yakuza Kiwami
  • Yakuza Kiwami 2
  • Dead in broad daylight
  • Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Wildlands
  • Bugnax
  • Metro Exodus
  • Mana Trials
  • UN
  • Monopoly madness
  • Monopoly More

As previously announced, the Yakuza The titles added to the games catalog bring most of the Kiryu saga within reach of PS Plus Extra and Premium members. In terms of timeline, Yakuza 0 is the first game in the Kiryu saga, while Yakuza Kiwami is a remake of the first game in the series. Its sequel, Yakuza Kiwami 2takes place directly after the previous one, using gameplay and graphics enhancements developed for Yakuza 6. It also features Goro Majima as a playable character, similar to how he is in 0. It’s something exclusive to Kiwami version of the game and not in the original. Yakuza 3, 4, 5 and 6 will be added to the PS Plus games catalog at a later date.

Meanwhile, two of the titles are multiplayer experiences. Dead in broad daylight is an asymmetrical multiplayer horror game. Players can choose to play as a survivor or a killer. There are plenty of perks to customize your character, as well as costumes to run around in style. Tom Clancy’s Ghost Recon Wildlands is a similar multiplayer experience, allowing you to create a squad of up to 3 players. Although there is a PvP aspect, you can also play it in cooperative PvE.

To finish, Bugnax is the least intense game in the August catalog. You explore an island in order to catch Bugsnax, which is a mix of bugs and snacks. There are a total of 100 species of Bugsnax species that you can capture.

The August games catalog will debut on August 16, 2022 for PlayStation Plus Extra and Premium members.